Owens Defends Second Amendment

Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham’s order is a direct attack …”

WASHINGTON – Rep. Burgess Owens (UT-04) co-sponsored a House Resolution to condemn New Mexico Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham for her “emergency order” to prohibit the open and concealed carry of firearms in Albuquerque and its surrounding county, including city sidewalks and parks. Violators of this order may face civil penalties and fines up to $5,000. 

“The ability of law-abiding Americans to keep and bear arms is a fundamental right protected by the U.S. Constitution, and Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham’s order is a direct attack on New Mexicans’ Second Amendment rights,” said Rep. Owens. “We will not stand for this tyrannical government overreach that erodes a cornerstone of American freedom.” 

Click here to read the full text of the bill.

The House Resolution is led by Rep. Newhouse and supported by the National Rifle Association (NRA), the National Shooting Sports Foundation (NSSF), House Majority Leader Steve Scalise (R-LA), House Majority Whip Tom Emmer (R-MN), House Republican Conference Chair Elise Stefanik (R-NY), House Republican Conference Vice Chair Mike Johnson (R-LA), Chief Deputy Whip Guy Reschenthaler (R-PA), and Reps Ryan Zinke (R-MT), August Pfluger (R-TX), Roger Williams (R-TX), Rick Crawford (R-AR), James Moylan (R-Guam), Michael Burgess (R-TX), Paul Gosar (R-AZ), Jake Ellzey (R-TX), Doug LaMalfa (R-CA), Tom McClintock (R-CA), Mark Alford (R-MO), Jeff Van Drew (R-NJ), Barry Moore (R-AL), Ralph Norman (R-SC), Randy Feenstra (R-IA), Eli Crane (R-AZ), Tom Tiffany (R-WI), Mike Collins (R-GA), Troy Balderson (R-OH), Claudia Tenney (R-NY), John Moolenaar (R-MI), Troy Nehls (R-TX), Richard Hudson (R-NC), Stephanie Bice (R-OK), Jerry Carl (R-AL), George Santos (R-NY), Alex Mooney (R-WV), Chris Stewart (R-UT), Mike Bost (R-IL), Bob Latta (R-OH), Darrell Issa (R-CA), Diana Harshbarger (R-TX), Tom Cole (R-OK), Buddy Carter (R-GA), Tony Gonzales (R-TX), Matt Rosendale (R-MT), William Timmons (R-SC), David Valadao (R-CA), Brad Finstad (R-MN), Michelle Fischbach (R-MN), Harriet Hageman (R-WY), Austin Scott (R-GA), Andrew Clyde (R-GA), Josh Brecheen (R-OK), Kat Cammack (R-FL), Pete Sessions (R-TX), Bill Johnson (R-OH), Jim Baird (R-IN), Carol Miller (R-WV), Barry Loudermilk (R-GA), Anna Paulina Luna (R-FL), Keith Self (R-TX), Ronny Jackson (R-TX), Pete Stauber (R-MN), and Glenn Grothman (R-WI).


Recent Posts

Jun 20, 2024

Owens Announces New Passport Office for Salt Lake City

WASHINGTON — Representative Burgess Owens (UT-04) released the following statement in support of the State Department’s announcement of a new U.S. passport agency in Salt Lake City. “The Utah way sometimes involves leaving Utah for work, recreation, and service abroad, requiring timely and efficient passport services that residents can count on when making travel plans,” […]