Owens Condemns Antisemitism

Leads Resolution Against Pro-Terror, Antisemitic Groups on American Campuses

WASHINGTON – Higher Education and Workforce Development Subcommittee Chairman Burgess Owens (UT-04) introduced a resolution condemning support for Hamas, Hezbollah, and other terrorist organizations at American universities, which have created a hostile environment for Jewish students, faculty, and staff.

“I never thought I’d see American students celebrate a terrorist organization dedicated to the destruction of Israel and the Jewish people,” said Chairman Owens. “Elite institutions have failed their students and alumni by offering inadequate statements of condemnation. This has exposed the deep rot of antisemitism in our higher education system, from statements placing blame solely on Israel for the atrocities of Hamas to demonstrations glorifying mass murder, rape, torture, and kidnapping. It is not nuanced or difficult to stand against terror.”

“Condemning terrorism should not be a controversial position to take,” said Education and the Workforce Committee Chairwoman Virginia Foxx. “Hamas slaughtered innocent men, women, and children because they were Jewish. It’s appalling that some higher education faculty and students have the gall to defend these despicable actions. I thank Congressman Owens for introducing this resolution to condemn the support of terrorist organizations at colleges and universities that places the safety of Jewish students, faculty, and staff at risk.”

The resolution is supported by 52 original cosponsors, including Reps. Robert Aderholt (AL-04), Rick Allen (GA-12), Jim Banks (IN-03), Aaron Bean (FL-04), Lauren Boebert (CO-03), Josh Brecheen (OK-02), Eric Burlison (MO-07), Kat Cammack (FL-03), Lori Chavez-DeRemer (OR-05), Juan Ciscomani (AZ-06), Mike Collins (GA-10), James Comer (KY-01), John Curtis (UT-03), Monica De La Cruz (TX-15), Scott DesJarlais (TN-04), Mario Diaz-Balart (FL-26), Jeff Duncan (SC-03), Virginia Foxx (NC-05), Scott Franklin (FL-18), Russell Fry (SC-07), Carlos Gimenez (FL-28), Tony Gonzales (TX-23), Bob Good (VA-05), Glenn Grothman (WI-06), Erin Houchin (IN-09), Richard Hudson (NC-09), John James (MI-10), Mike Lawler (NY-17), Julia Letlow (LA-05), Lisa McClain (MI-09), Mary Miller (IL-15), Cory Mills (FL-07), Marc Molinaro (NY-19), John Moolenaar (MI-02), Barry Moore (AL-02), Blake Moore (UT-01), Guy Reschenthaler (PA-14), John Rose (TN-06), Lloyd Smucker (PA-11), Michelle Steel (CA-45), Bryan Steil (WI-01), Elise Stefanik (NY-21), GT Thompson (PA-15), Tom Tiffany (WI-07), William Timmons (SC-04), Jeff Van Drew (NJ-02), Tim Walberg (MI-05), Randy Weber (TX-14), Daniel Webster (FL-11), Brandon Williams (NY-22), Joe Wilson (SC-02), and Rudy Yakym (IN-02). 

Legislative text of the resolution is available here


Recent Posts

Feb 29, 2024

Owens Backs Pioneering Bill: A New Frontier in U.S. Education

WASHINGTON – Higher Education and Workforce Development Chairman Burgess Owens (UT-04) joined Reps. Glenn Grothman (WI-06) and Brittany Pettersen (CO-07) to introduce the Empowering Learners through Competency-Based Education Act, which will assist universities in cultivating learning environments that will allow students to learn at their own pace, called competency-based education (CBE), in an effort to […]

Feb 29, 2024

Owens Exposes Hypocrisy and Divisiveness of DEI

WASHINGTON — On Thursday, March 7, at 10:15 a.m. ET, the Subcommittee on Higher Education and Workforce Development, chaired by Rep. Burgess Owens (UT-04), will hold a hearing titled “Divisive, Excessive, Ineffective: The Real Impact of DEI on College Campuses.”“Growing up in segregation, bathrooms, water fountains, and schools were separate. While America has made significant […]

Feb 5, 2024

Utah Congressional Delegation Announces Passport Fairs in Coordination with State Department

Utahns can obtain passport services at five events throughout the state from February 13 – 17 Representative Burgess Owens (UT-04) joined U.S. Senators Mike Lee (R-UT) and Mitt Romney (R-UT), and Representatives John Curtis (UT-03), Blake Moore (UT-01), and Celeste Maloy (UT-02), in coordination with the Department of State, to announce five “Passport Fairs” throughout the […]